Leadership Day Agenda - May 3-4, 2016

Tentative Agenda

Tuesday, May 3
8:00 AM – 5:00 PM: Registration
9:00 AM – 10:00 AM: Briefing for Medical Students, Residents/Fellows in-training Members
(Attendance is limited to these individuals)
10:30 AM – 12:00 PM: Advocacy Workshop
12:00 PM– 12:45 PM: Box Lunch
12:45 PM – 1:00 PM:

Opening Remarks

Steve Weinberger, MD, MACP
ACP Executive Vice President and Chief Executive Officer

Bob Doherty
ACP Senior Vice President, Governmental Affairs and Public Policy

1:00 PM – 2:00 PM:

Health Information Technology/EHRs/MU and Quality Measures: Changes are a-Comin!
Key staff from the Administration

2:00 PM – 3:00 PM:

Awards Ceremony
Presentation of the 2016 Richard Neubauer Advocate for Internal Medicine Award to Alejandro Moreno, MBBS, MPH, JD, FACP (Texas)

Presentation of the ACP Services PAC Distinguished Service Award to Gregory Kane, MD, FACP (Pennsylvania)

Presentation of the Joseph F. Boyle Award for Distinguished Public Service to to U.S. Representative Michael Burgess (R-TX)

3:00 PM – 4:15 PM: Leadership Day 2016: Connecting the Dots to Improve Patient Care
Bob Doherty, SVP, Governmental Affairs & Public Policy
4:15 PM – 5:30 PM: Hot Topics in Payment, Workforce & Delivery System Reforms in Congress
Key congressional health staff
5:30 PM – 6:00 PM:  Break
6:00 PM – 7:00 PM: Welcome to Washington Reception hosted by ACP Services, Inc. Political Action Committee (PAC)
(Attendance is limited to 2016 ACP Services PAC members)
6:00 PM – 8:00 PM: Happy Hour Reception for Medical Students and Residents/Fellows in-training Members Only
Wednesday May 4
7:00 AM – 10:00 AM:

Breakfast and Briefings by Key Health Policy Experts

Mandy Cohen, MD, MPH
Chief Operating Officer and Chief of Staff
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services

Marci Nielsen, PhD, MPH
President and Chief Executive Officer
Patient-Centered Primary Care Collaborative

10:30 AM – 5:00 PM: Capitol Hill Visits